Chair of judges, award-winning author Bernardine Evaristo, was joined by the veteran journalist James Naughtie and broadcaster Susie Dent to form the final judging panel for the Nero Book Awards 2023. On the 14th March, at an awards ceremony in London, the prestigious panel revealed which book of the last 12 months was selected winner of the Nero Gold Prize Book of the Year. The recipient of the award was Paul Murray – The Bee Sting.

The Nero Gold Prize Book of the Year was selected from the winners of the four categories: Children’s Fiction, Debut Fiction, Fiction and Non-Fiction. Find out more about the category winners here.